MB - ASRock A75M-HVS FM1 A75 - $70
CPU - AMD A6-3500 FM1 with HD 6530D - $90
MEM - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB DDR3-1600 CL9 - $23
HDTV TUNER - Hauppauge dual - $110
HD - Hitachi 500GB - $80
OPTICAL - ASUS Black 12X BD-RW - $80
PSU - CORSAIR CX430 - $25 after $20 MIR
CASE - Silverstone HTPC - $60

So I bought almost exactly what was suggested above except i bought a WD 2.0 TB HD instead. While i put it all together and then i tried to install Windows 7 64bit from a bootable USB and it goes through loading all the files and then it gets to the "starting windows" section and then goes straight to a BSOD. I've done a lot of forum reading and found several similar problems but nothing has worked. This is my first build so could it be that i installed something incorrectly?

I went into the BIOS and it recognized all the RAM and everything else looked ok. Do i need to format the new HD before using it? Also i read that updating the bios could help. I have not loaded any drivers. I just put it all together and fired it up. I have a 24-pin power going to the MB and a 8-PIN that is near the graphics portion on the MB. I then have the HD plugged into the SATA1 slot and the DVD drive in the SATA2 slot. I also hooked up the power, reset, and led's to the MB as well.

I just realized that the RAM i bought is not technically on the supported ram list for the MB but i was told it should work fine.

I appreciate any ideas!
December 28, 2011 2:19:08 PM

Who told you the ram should work fine? It is best to stick with supported ram since blue screens are usually a RAM or MB issue I would start there.
m
l
December 28, 2011 2:24:12 PM

This topic has been moved from the section Windows 7 to section Systems by Area51reopened
m
l
Related resources
December 28, 2011 5:54:09 PM

vigilante212 said:
Who told you the ram should work fine? It is best to stick with supported ram since blue screens are usually a RAM or MB issue I would start there.