Sign in with
Your question

Newly Built System 'potential dangerous object' file

Last response: in Systems
December 28, 2011 5:19:16 PM

Hey guys, I was wondering if someone could help me with an inquiry that I have. I recently build my own system for the first time using this setup;

CPU = Intel Core i5-2500K

Motherboard = Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3P Intel Z68

Cooling = Coolermaster Hyper 212 Plus CPU Cool

Graphics = ATI Radeon 6950

PSU = 750W corsair

Case = CM HAF 922

Ram = corsair 2x4gb ddr3

HDD = 1TB samsung sata

OS = windows 7

I created this setup with gaming in mind such as SWTOR, BF3, Skyrim and so on with relative ease and everything is running fairly smoothly now that I have finished installing drivers and updates etc. The issue I have is with my AVG, I ran a full system scan and had this 'warning'

'C:\Program Files (x86)\GIGABYTE\ET6\bg.dll Corrupted executable file Potential dangerous object

As I have little to no knowledge of computers, I'm slightly concerned and wonder if I should simply delete/move the file or is this a serious issue?

Cheers

a b B Homebuilt system
December 28, 2011 5:24:13 PM

Reinstall your Motherboard drivers, use the latest ones from Gig's site and you should be fine,
its just telling you a file is corrupted, its not like an actual virus,
also,I'd use microsoft security essentials over avg for win7, especiallly 64bit systems, thats just my experience though
Moto
a c 78 B Homebuilt system
December 28, 2011 5:27:34 PM

If you delete the file and something from Gigabyte tries to use it, it could crash your computer.

That being said, it might be better than the alternative if it is a virus of some kind.

You may want to try renaming it to bgdll.old or something and see if it affects stability before you delete it entirely.
Related resources
a b B Homebuilt system
December 28, 2011 6:07:08 PM