Sign in with
Your question

New gaming rig

Last response: in Systems
December 29, 2011 9:20:17 AM

Hy everyone! This is my first time posting on this forum. I want to build a pc for gaming an am looking for a little advice. This is the system I am planning on building

Case: RAIDMAX Cyclone Black/Red
Motherboard: MSI 970A-G45
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W
PCU: AMD Phenom II X6 1055T BOX
RAM: 2 x Kit Dual Channel Corsair 8GB (2 x 4GB), DDR3, 1600MHz
GPU: PowerColor Radeon HD 6970 2048MB DDR5 Dual Fan
CPU cooler: Thermaltake Contac 21
Monitor: LED Philips 226CL2SB/00
Mouse: Gigabyte GM-M6880
Keyboard: A4Tech G800MU
Optical drive: Samsung DVD-RW SH-222AB/BEBE SATA Black Bulk
I will be using the same harddrive i have nw on my outdated pc. It is a 7200 rpm 500g samsung.

My budget is 1000 euro and as far as I've researched, this seems to be the best system I can buy with this money. If anyone could tell me something I could change to make it better without going over budget, I would apreciate that.

More about : gaming rig

December 29, 2011 1:38:19 PM

Don't spend so much money on a system with an AMD CPU in it. Switch out the CPU and motherboard with Intel models.

Intel is much faster than AMD right now and that probably won't change anytime soon, if ever.

You should get an Intel Sandy bridge quad core CPU. Best option for non-overclocking is the i5-2400 with an H67 chipset motherboard. Only options for overclocking are the i5-2500K, i7-2600K, and i7-2700K with a P67 or Z68 chipset motherboard.

The only significant difference between the i5s and i7s is that the i7s have Hyper-Threading which improves multi-threaded performance but since games don't use that many threads the i5s an i7s perform almost identically even though the i7s are much more expensive.
December 29, 2011 4:03:34 PM