False GPU Overheat Reading?

jeredgordner

Distinguished
Oct 31, 2011
My rig:
ASUS Crosshair V Formula AM3+ AMD 990FX
ASUS EAH6950 DCII/2DI4S/2GD5 Radeon HD 6950 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express
AMD Phenom II X6 1100T Black Edition Thuban 3.3GHz, 3.7GHz Turbo Socket AM3 125W Six-Core
(I don't think the rest is relevant for this thread)

My problem:
I built this desktop about a month ago and it's been chewing up and spitting out everything I can throw at it. I've been running all sorts of high end games on the highest settings with no issues or slightest hiccup, no overclocking at all, everything stock settings. A couple days ago I started playing Dead Rising 2, seemed to hiccup a little but I associated that with the hundreds of zombies on screen at any given minute. So I turned down the zombie details and shadow details a bit and it seemed to fix the stutter.
This morning I opened up my machine just to tie some wires together to make it easier to manage inside and I changed nothing hardware or wire setting. I started to play Dead Rising today and the fans to my graphics card seemed to spool all the way up at high speed before the menu screen even loaded. Once the menu was up, the fans kept making sounds like an engine revving up and settling down. I quickly Alt+Tabbed my way out, opened up Asus SmartDoctor and it said my GPU was overheating at 104C. It normally sits around 45C with no game running, 70C with a game running. The second I turned off my game, it instantly dropped back to 45C and the fan went back to normal. So I tried it again with dual monitors so I wouldn't have to Alt+Tab again and sure enough, it INSTANTLY went from 45 to 104 with the fans revving up and down. It doesn't make any sense to me how it could double in temperature so quickly
I can't figure out if this is some sort of software issue with Asus SmartDoctor or if something could've happened with my graphics card.

Thanks in advance for any input!

clutchc

Titan
Ambassador