Advice for a fishtank pc

Jess95

Honorable
Mar 28, 2012
hey everyone,

i've got 2 systems, one old one new. id like to use the parts from my old system to make an aquarium pc, but im still unsure of what to do from here on.

it's not quite a large fish tank, the mobo and the psu fit side by side and take up the full width of the case but looking birds eye view on the case (or tank) it's roughly 24cm in length and 35cm in width.

what i need to know is:

is it ok to use baby oil instead of mineral oil?
will i need a radiator or any special cooling, eventhough it's quite a small tank?
do i need to put anything else around mobo/parts?

basically before this system was taken out of the case it was used for web browsing, music, photoshop, light gaming, hd movies. so nothing extreme happening on this pc.

im doing this fishtank thing more for looks than cooling, but i've never done it before so im not sure how parts will hold up.

specs of the system:

FoxConn p4m9007mb-8krs2h
Core2Duo E4700 @ Stock 2.6ghz + stock cooler
2gb ARAM DDR2
nvidia 9500gt (may upgrade to a gtx460 is found cheap)

APower 600W PSU (needs to be replace, as it dies under load)

Jess95

Honorable
Mar 28, 2012
dont think i've seen mineral oil at the supermarkets, i looked up typical supermarkets in australia you can get a 500ml bottle for $2.50, i'll probably need 12 - 16 bottles, plus some lighting and a new psu. it's quite easier that way where i can get a few bottles rather than ordering a massive tin and waiting for it to arrive. baby oil should still work, right? the same youtube videos say baby oil/mineral oil. like this one:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eub39NaC4rc&feature=related

Jess95

Honorable
Mar 28, 2012
also from this website:
http://www.livestrong.com/article/219339-mineral-oil-vs-baby-oil/

"The only difference between baby oil and mineral oil in general is that baby oil has added fragrance."

at least it wont have that 'oily smell'