I7 2600k slow Sony Vegas rendering

theyellowblob

Distinguished
Dec 29, 2011
Hi I'm a newcomer here - so before I start I'd like to list my specs.

Intel i7 2600k 3.8ghz (turbo enabled)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 1333
Gigabyte Z68AP-D3
BFG nVidia GeForce GTX 275
Western Digital Black Caviar 500GB *
Windows 7 64-bit

I am a video editor and spend lots of time in Sony Vegas Pro 11 rendering and editing footage. Previously, I had the same exact build except with the i5 2500k. In hopes of rendering at a faster rate - I thought I'd try and pick up the i7 2600k and see if it made a difference. Unfortunately with the same exact settings, footage, duration (45 mins), down the bottom no editing what so ever (no extra data), the speed/duration rendering the video was the same (approximately 3.5hrs).

A question that came to mind would be, is my build possibly being bottlenecked? Perhaps picking up an SSD would do some justice and cut down some rendering time? I know for a fact that a project with 45min worth of data paired with a i7 2600k should not take as long as 3hrs.

Any other advice or thoughts I should look into? I've already checked that Hyperthreading/Multi-Threading is enabled in BIOS as well as Turbo Boost, perhaps there's something else I'm missing? Any thoughts/comments or suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated.

That does seem like a long time, but I have no direct knowledge of rendering times.

It's certainly possible that your time would not improve going from one CPU to another. Just because a particular software title claims to be multi-threaded does not mean it can actually utilize 8 threads. Your main change in the CPUs was a change from 4 cores/4 threads to 4 cores/8 threads.

When a system under-performs in CPU intensive tasks, we first look at temperatures.

Download CPU-Z and Real Temp. Run Real temp while rendering and report the core temps, please.

daship

Distinguished