PC Builder gets asked to build a server. Am I capable?

Fermli

Distinguished
Dec 7, 2011
My apologies if this topic belongs in another subforum.

A friend of a friend is starting a 3 person law firm and they want me to build them a server. I have no experience building a server, and a little unsure where to start, what level of hardware and software I need for the task.

MY BACKGROUND

I've built 3 PCs for me and my family in the past 18 months. I've installed Windows7 on each. I also know how to install wireless routers when given instructions. I have absolutely no experience with servers. I have no clue what RAID harddrives are, no clue what cloud means. No idea how much I need to spend on a server, whether I can just put the server on a normal PC, or if I need special hardware/software.

Am I technically capable of building what the client wants?

WHAT CLIENT WANTS
We each will bring our own laptop computers to the firm, all three of which are running Vista with Microsoft 2007 as the main word processing backbone alongside the intent to use Outlook for calendaring and email.

We will need a file sharing, calendaring sharring capability in place that is remotely accessible. It seems that a traditional server computer / wireless network is the solution. However, I and my partners would like to learn more about cloud computing and how we could incorporate cloud computing to achieve our goals.

In a nut shell, we are a law firm of 3 lawyers and no staff at this time. Please put together a proposal for how you would like to set-up our computing. We plan to lease a powerful copy, fax, scanner. It will need to be incorporated into the network.

We'd like to have a fax modem to intake faxes and convert them to pdfs saved on the hard drive.