Black screen, no beeps first build - ASUS Sabertooth Z77

grantcran

Honorable
Feb 17, 2013
Hi,

I'm new to PC building and have scoured these forums for an answer to my problem. I have followed the instructions that many have suggested with no luck.

The components I put together were:
ASUS Sabertooth Z77
i7 3770k 3.5ghz 8mb LGA 1155 Ivy Bridge
Corsair 16gb (2x8gb) Vengeance 1866 RAM (CMZ16GX3M2A1866C10R)
Seasonic X-850 80plus Gold Modular PSU
Noctua NH-D14 CPU Cooler
2 x Sapphire ATI HD7970 OC Edition 3gb
Other HDD and optical components which I've removed from the equation.

The problem: After full build, machine powers up, LEDs on, fans spinning, DRAM_LED is off, no monitor signal from either motherboard HDMI output, or HDMI or DVI outputs from either graphics card. I have no internal speaker so I have external speakers plugged into MB audio out jack.

I removed everything, rebuilt outside the case. I replaced the Noctua with the standard CPU fan, because it doesn't fit with the Vengeance RAM. The only components connected for the test were MB, CPU, CPU fan, 1 stick RAM, and the PSU. All power cables are connected and seated correctly. I did use the Q-Connecter hooked up to the case power button however, because I'm not willing to try shorting the board. Every time, the same result, no display, no sound, but everything inside humming away.

I have tried RAM in every configuration, and I have tried no RAM, which activates the DRAM_LED, and causes machine to power off shortly after start-up. I have tried GPU with no RAM, and it ends in the same initial result. The machine appears as though it would just keep running if I don't shut it down. I have followed the ASUS forums including trying different flash bios and clearing CMOS. I have since discovered my RAM is not specifically listed in the vendor list in the manual, however I have also read this doesn't always matter??