Motherboard FSB confusion+CPU possibly being underclocked

pileggi

Honorable
Feb 18, 2013
Hello! I have been lurking this forum for a month or two out of curiosity and now my own questions have brought me to making an account and asking for some advice and possibly obtaining some hard answers if you would be so kind!

I am quite new to the inner workings of computer hardware so please bare with me.

I recently bought a second hand computer off of a good friend of mine and overall I am very pleased with what I got for the money I gave him. I intend to use it as a media center and for some old shooters like CoD 2. My specifications are as follows: (If you would like a detailed Everest report then please ask)

Motherboard: MSI MS-7267
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6750 @ 2.66GHz ~2.1GHz
GPU: Nvidia GeForce 9500 GT
RAM:2GB

When I first looked at the dxdiag I noticed the ''~2.1GHz'' next to the processor report. This baffled me as I assumed that the processor should be working at 2.66GHz and not 2.1GHz. When I checked the specs of my computer further with Everest I found that the processor was indeed working at 2.1GHz. I figured this was because the FSB for my MB is 133MHz while the processor muliplier is 16x. 133x16=2128 which is more or less my current clock speed.

This is where my knowledge ends and i must ask a few questions. Is my processor really being effectively underclocked by the motherboard? There were no hardware upgrades made to this computer as far as I know and it doesn't make sense that the manufacturer would use a motherboard that is not capable of utilizing the processors full potential.