Will this Prebuilt HP work for Games like Skyrim?

Status
Not open for further replies.

sjcs24

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2011
Could someone tell me if this desktop would work for games like Skyrim or Star Wars Old Republic? And, can you add a graphics card that would help make it better? If so, which one? Sorry, I am very new to this! I have a 14 year old son and would like to get him a computer for his birthday. I would consider building him a gaming computer, but my budget would be around $700. and I am a little afraid that wouldn't be enough. I would very much appreciate any and all suggestions. Thanks!

Processor and Memory

Processor Type:
AMD Quad-Core A6-3600 Accelerated Processor

Processor Speed:
2.10GHz

Cache:
4MB L2 CACHE

Memory (RAM):
8GB PC3-10600 DDR3 SDRAM memory (2x4GB)

Maximum Memory Expansion:
8GB

Hard Drive and Multimedia Drives

Hard Drive:
1TB 7200RPM Serial ATA hard drive

Optical Drive:
SuperMulti DVD Burner Write: 16x max DVD±R, 12x max DVD±R DL, 8x max DVD+RW, 6x max DVD-RW, 12x max DVD-RAM, 40x max CD-R, 32x max CD-RW Read: 16x max DVD-ROM, 40x max CD-ROM

Multimedia Card Slot:
15-in-1 memory card reader: supports SmartMedia, xD, MultiMedia Card, Secure Digital (SD), Mini Secure Digital, Compact Flash I, Compact Flash II, IBM Microdrive, Memory Stick, Memory Stick Pro, Memory Stick Duo, Memory Stick Pro Duo, RSMMC, MMC Mobile, MMC+

Graphics and Audio

Graphics:
AMD Radeon™ HD 6530 integrated graphics; Up to 4089MB Total Available Graphics Memory as allocated by Windows® 7

Audio:
External 1.2W/channel USB powered speakers

Display, Keyboard, Mouse and Webcam

Display Size:
HP 2311 x 23" LED Monitor

Keyboard:
USB Keyboard

Mouse:
USB Mouse

Webcam:
No

Connectivity
Ethernet:
10/100/1000Base-T network interface

Wi-Fi:
Wireless LAN 802.11b/g/n

Bluetooth: No

Modem:
No

Ports/Slots

Ports:
• Headphone; Microphone (Front)
• 4 USB 2.0 ports (Back)
• 2 USB 2.0 ports (Front)
• Microphone-in/Line-in/Line-out (Back)