Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Graphics problems

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
November 3, 2011 5:51:37 AM

Hello,
I have a Geforce 9800GT on a P5Q SE Plus motherboard. Recently, I've run into trouble with my computer, it will not boot windows anymore (always going to a System Repair menu, that ultimately tells me it can't repair anything), and when it does show anything on the screen, it shows the uniform dotted lines across the entire screen (similar to what I've read that may be due to a video RAM issue) but you can still see something behind the dots. (Picture is not distorted, just covered by these marks across entire screen). Anyway, I technically haven't been able to diagnose the problem as caused by my video card (which is only 2yrs old...) but from what I can tell so far, it looks like it. Can anyone tell me how to find out for sure what my problem is?

I first had issues when I started playing SC2 one day (previously I never had issues. I also had made no hardware changes to my PC) I restarted and waited a while, and eventually it started up again. Now, 2 days later is where I'm at and the windows won't even boot. I'm at a loss as to what to do next. Any help is appreciated.

Also, if I do need to replace my video card, what would be a decent replacement? (Good bang for buck performance, will be able to play most games decently, but not looking for high end stuff; say ~$50)

More about : graphics problems

November 3, 2011 6:47:04 AM

how can i confirm whether or not it's my vid card? and how do I know it's fried? or not just some software issue? or, even if it's something else? i can't even boot windows...
Score
November 3, 2011 7:09:20 AM

try a different PSU and GPU if you have another computer or if you have a friend that will let you use some of his components.
Score
Related resources
November 4, 2011 1:41:56 AM