Supermicro Workstation with PSU alarm problem

Simple_Paladin582

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2011
Hi,

I own a Supermicro system, built around a 7046A-T "barebone" superworkstation. Its based around the SM X8DAi motherboard, the 743TQ-865B-SQ chasis, and the PWS-865-PQ power supply. I've been using it for about the last 15 months without any major problems. It is primarily used for 3D rendering and video processing. It has:

2x Xeon X5650 with the Supermicro Heatsinks included in the barebone system
6x 4GB Kingston 240-Pin DDR3 1333 ECC Registered Server Memory (KVR1333D3D4R9S/4G)
3x WD SATA HDD (7200 RPM)
ATI FirePro V5800
ASUS DVD-RW

The system is also running off of a Cyberpower PP1500SWT2 1000W UPS.

I recently replaced the PSU after I got an alarm and an indicator LED (Power Fail) telling me that one of the redundant fans in the PSU had failed and that it had overheated. This happened while I was rendering in a 3D application. After shutting down and removing/replacing the old PSU with an identical model that I had purchased through Newegg, within an hour or two of resuming my work I'm getting the same alarm.

In both instances the remaining fan throttles up (as in the manual). I've felt around the exterior/interior of the case and the PSU and while it feels a little warm in some spots, it doesn't seem at all hot. I restarted the system after receiving the alarm with the new PSU and it starts normally, without any alarm.

I also checked the BIOS when I restarted, and the system temperature is still low, at 31-33 degrees. The cooling/fan configuration has always been set to "balanced". As I'm typing this the system is sitting idle at my Windows 7 desktop. I'd like to resume my work but I'm afraid of getting the same alarm condition.