Should I buy this IBM harddrive?

G

I want to buy this IBm 75 GXP 45gig 7200RPM ATA/100 harddisk but i'm still concern if it's the best reliable and performance in the market, I heard alot of great thing about Quantum and Western Digital, anyone got any suggestion? Thanks

breed33

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
I have had great experiences with IBM HDs. I personally have three myself and have put three others in my families PCs. I used to use WD, but I started having troubles with them after a year of use. I would get mysterious problems with power connectors and motors. This happened on about 3 of the 15 or so HDs I had used. The others were all fine.

I have no experience with Quantam.

Arrow

Splendid
Dec 31, 2007
I have also had great experiences with IBM hard drives. In fact, I do have a 45GB IBM 75GXP right now, and it's great. I highly recommend it.

Rob
Please visit <b><A HREF="http://www.ncix.com/shop/index.cfm?affiliateid=319048" target="_new">http://www.ncix.com/shop/index.cfm?affiliateid=319048</A></b>

G

I have had 2 Quantums and they have both failed, Western Digital used to be very good but not anymore, No the best one is IBM, they are the best right now

G

I agree with yoda271828. I own this drive also and it is simply the best drive I have ever owned. Period.

John Garrett
System Admin - www.elementk.com
Editor - Exploring Windows NT Professional

G

We're all happy with our IBM drives. My sister has the same one, my girlfriend has the 30GB version. I have one 20GB ATA66 7200RPM (the series before the 75 GXP) and my brother has 2 of them in RAID 0 with a Promise Fasttrak 66.
One suggestion, you might want to get 2 20 or 30GB drives and put them in RAID 0 instead of buying 1 large drive.