$1,000 Gaming Computer, New to Building

tomroark

Distinguished
Jan 1, 2012
Hey guys, I am definitely coming here looking for advice on my new gaming computer build, especially since I am new to building computers. I've done a lot of research, and there's a few things I still have questions about. So to start, here is the current build I have in mind:

Motherboard: ?
Processor: Intel Quad Core i5 2500-K, overclocked to 4.4gHz Here
CPU Cooler: Corsair Hydro Series H60 Liquid Cooler Here
Graphics card: nVidia GTX 560ti Here
RAM: 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blu DDR3 1600mHz Here
Storage: Intel 320 series 120GB SSD Here
PSU: Corsair Enthusiast Series 750w Here
Sound card: ?

Approximate Purchase Date: Within two weeks.

Budget Range: My budget is roughly $1,000, can go a little over if need be.

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming will be my primary use, particularly online games like SW:TOR and perhaps BF3.

Parts Not Required: Case (Full size), monitor (24inch LCD Samsung HD 1080p), mouse and keyboard.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Amazon, Newegg, or TigerDirect. Whichever have the part(s) I need for the lowest price after taxes and shipping (I am an Amazon Prime member, so free shipping there if the parts are eligible).

Parts Preferences: No particular preference, am more concerned about performance. I am choosing to go with an Intel processor and nVidia graphics card.

Overclocking: Yes

SLI or Crossfire: Yes, but not immediately. Will purchase another graphics card down the road.

Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080