Sign in with
Your question

[New Build] Do I need to upgrade?

Last response: in Systems
January 1, 2012 8:07:49 PM

Happy New Year, good people of Tom's. I've been building computers for 10-12 years but I'm not good at keeping up with tech requirements. That said, I'll be a good boy and ask this appropriately:

Approximate Purchase Date: Most Parts Purchased w/in the last month

Budget Range: ~$1,000

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, Dual Monitor, Low-Level Multimedia Whore (PS, Video Editing, etc.)

Parts Not Required: MoBo, CPU, GPU, PSU, HDD/SSD, RAM, KB/Mouse, Multimedia Drive

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg, MC, Fry's, Amazon, etc.

Parts Preferences: No brand loyalty

Overclocking: Maybe (nothing drastic... I prefer low-noise, low-heat, minimal fussing... OCing is frequently too much of a headache for me)

SLI or Crossfire: No

Monitor Resolution: 1680x1050 (hence my question)

Additional Comments: What started as an upgrade to my 4 yo, woefully-out-of-date rig has become a full-on new build (wanna play BF3/Crysis 2 on Ultra). However, I'm debating on whether I need to upgrade my monitor(s) and case.

I've purchased: Z68XP-UD3 / i5-2500k / GB Radeon 6950 1gb / Corsair 650w / 80GB SSD / 1TB HDD / Corsair 8GB (2x4) DDR3
I'm recycling from my old rig: Sony DVD Drive, Keyboard/Mouse, Speakers

My question is two-fold: Given what I've purchased, should I use a HAF 912 case (purchased a while ago for another build but never used) or do I need something more substantial? I don't plan on doing much OCing (too many bad experiences) but I'd like to avoid frying parts at all cost and minimize noise and heat. Also, my current monitor setup is 2 Samsung Syncmaster 2253BWs which max out at 1680x1050. I'd rather not buy (a) new monitor(s), but if I'm leaving significant performance on the table, I'll bite the bullet. Should I upgrade my case/monitors?