Non Gaming Sytem select CPU/MOB

welchs101

Distinguished
Sep 18, 2008
I am trying to build a non-gaming system for a friend for web surfing, itunes, skype, and email. Basic stuff.....i think.

I am trying to decide on which of the following cpu's to use:
1) AMD A6-3650 Llano 2.6GHz Socket FM1 100W Quad-Core Desktop APU with DirectX 11 Graphic AMD Radeon HD 6530D AD3650WNGXBOX cost: ~ $120

2) AMD Athlon II X3 450 Rana 3.2GHz Socket AM3 95W Triple-Core Desktop Processor ADX450WFGMBOX
cost: ~ $78

I used the #2 before on my dad's build and it works great. Someone suggested on this forum to use the A6. I compared the A6 and the X3 on Anands cpu chart and the X3 was kinda better for most things......at least the way i read the charts. But i am not an expert.

I am looking for some guidance on which to pick. Also, i am not sure what MOB to use. Should i get a MOB that supports USB3.0.......that kinda of stuff. Is there anything else to consider when picking the MOB? I told my friend i could build him one cheaper/better than he could buy since he already has the OS, keyboard, mouse and monitor. OS will be windows 7 64bit.

Again, i am not an expert but not a total newbie......somewhere in between.

Thanks for your help.

g-unit1111

Titan
1) AMD A6-3650 Llano 2.6GHz Socket FM1 100W Quad-Core Desktop APU with DirectX 11 Graphic AMD Radeon HD 6530D AD3650WNGXBOX cost: ~ $120

2) AMD Athlon II X3 450 Rana 3.2GHz Socket AM3 95W Triple-Core Desktop Processor ADX450WFGMBOX
cost: ~ $78

I don't think I'd use either of those - there's a lot of rumors with the Llano having a lot of problems associated with it.

For the CPU go with either the Phenom II X4 - 960 or go with the Intel i3-2120. They're both around the ~$120 range and they're both perfectly capable for anything he wants to do.