RAID & SCSI

allgoodpeople

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
I'm trying to envision how SCSI HHD's arranged in RAID-0 would look. For instance, on the Abit KT7A, how would the connection go? Would you plug the HHD's into the onboard RAID controller, and install a SCSI board?

Or similary, on the KT7MasterS, would you plug the HHD's into the onboard SCSI and simply add a RAID controller?

Or, would you (as i suspect) not be able to use on board connections, and would have to use a RAID card and a SCSI card. And if so, how would the connections work?

I ask because I have little experience with SCSI drives and RAID but am thinking about incorporating both into a system, and I'm mentally mapping out my next computer build. Thanks for any info you can share.

allgoodpeople

"It's a dog eat dog world, and I'm wearing milkbone underwear."

yoda271828

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
I think your confusing IDE-RAID with SCSI-RAID. They are completely incompatible. You can not just plug an IDE drive into a SCSI connector or vice versa. The Abit KT7A-RAID only has onboard IDE-RAID, you can not use SCSI drives on it unless you buy a PCI SCSI controller. The MSI K7 Master-S has onboard IDE and an onboard SCSI controller, so you could use IDE and/or SCSI, but they plug into different connectors on the motherboard not the same ones. If you want an IDE and SCSI system the MSI K7 Master-S is a good choice.

Your question was a little confusing, but I hope I answered it. Let me know if I misunderstood you.

allgoodpeople

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007