So I just ordered my first computer..

vr6andrew

Distinguished
Dec 26, 2011
I just ordered my first computer and I will be assembling it in a couple of days. It is my first build ever and while I've become pretty tech savvy, I've never had the opportunity to build a computer until now. I have a few questions for the assembly process.

For starters this is what I purchased:

Cooler Master HAF 912 Case
i5-2500k Processor
Nvidia GeForce GTX 570
ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
650W PSU
500GB 7200 RPM HDD
USB Wireless Adapter
DVD Burner

First off, does anyone have any tips during the physical assembly process?

Secondly, what drivers should I be downloading? Also, should I install them using a flash drive and when should I do that if so?

Finally, when should I install Windows 7?

Thanks, if these questions have been answered already it'd be a good help if you could point me in the direction of where those answers are located.

At the assembly not to break anything. Don't work with screwdrivers with magnetic heads.
You don't have to download nothing.Everything come with a cd with drivers and everything what you need.After that you can update the drivers if is need.
After you have assembled everything first you install the Windows and after that your motherboard drivers and finaly the video card drivers.

Traildriver

Distinguished
Sep 10, 2010
Avoid static electricity.

Don't stand / move on carpet while asssembling. Take your components out of their antistatic bags and place the items on the bags, not on the work surface. Use an antistatic wrist strap, even a homemade one will help. Have all your tools handy, don't make repeated trips to get something which could result in a static charge buildup in your body that would discharge into some valuable component.

Also, plan beforehand how you wish to partition your hard drive. Easier to plan it now than to have to rearrange after you started filling up the hard drive.