Upgrading Graphics card

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tahitian

Distinguished
Nov 4, 2011
Hi Guys this is my first time so bear with me, Im trying to decide what to upgrade to for my pc that I built a back in may. Specs are as follows:

MoBo:GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2P nForce 630a Motherboard - Micro ATX, Socket AM3, nForce 630a Chipset, 1333MHz DDR3 (O.C.), SATA 3.0 Gb/s, RAID, GeForce 7025, Gigabit LAN
CPU: AMD HDT55TFBRBOX Phenom II 1055T Six Core Processor - 2.80GHz, 6MB Cache, 2000MHz (4000 MT/s) FSB, Retail, Socket AM3
PSU: CORSAIR Builder Series CX600 V2 600W ATX12V v2.3 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply
RAM: (2 sticks 8gb total) Corsair CMX4GX3M1A1333C9 XMS3 4GB DDR3 RAM - PC10666, 1333MHz, 4096MB
HD: WD Caviar 500GB Serial ATA HD 7200/16MB/SATA-3G
Monitor:LG E2050T-SN 20" Widescreen LED Monitor - 1600x900, 16:9, 5000000:1 Dynamic, 5ms, VGA, DVI

Current Graphics Card: Galaxy 44GGS8HX3VXZ GeForce GT 440 Video Card - 1GB, DDR3, PCI-Express 2.0 (x16), HDMI, VGA, DVI, DirectX 11 (cheapie I know)

Im not looking into attempting to learn how to crossfire just yet I think it will be years before I get into that. So Im just looking for the best upgrade for my money that will work with my system and not lead to bottlenecks but still be able to play games and have improved fps and quality graphics.

Solution
The first thing I'd replace is your mobo. That old nForce chipset will hold back everything else, only supporting 2000 MT/s. This would be a nice, relatively inexpensive yet future-resistant choice: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157280 for $85.