Sign in with
Your question

Help Required on First HTPC (~$1,300)

Last response: in Systems
January 2, 2012 3:07:02 PM

Hey everyone. This will be my first attempt at building my own HTPC and although I believe I'll have no problem with assembly, I'm finding the task of choosing the right bits and pieces rather daunting as I have very little experience in this area.

Approximate Purchase Date: Anytime between now and February 2012

Budget Range: Around $1,300 AUD. Lower obviously preferred, but I want something that will perform well without overdoing it for my needs.

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Watching 1080p movies from harddrive, Blu-ray/DVD playing/burning/ripping, gaming (capable of handling NES/SNES level emulation. N64 great if possible), watching/recording HD TV

Parts Not Required: No parts yet acquired other than keyboard, mouse, monitor and Windows 7.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Any

Parts Preferences: Would preferably like to build around the Antec Fusion Remote case.

Overclocking: No.

SLI or Crossfire: Probably not - Maybe?

Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080

Additional Comments: Should be reasonably quiet. Intel based. HDMI ready and 7.1 audio is a must as is ability to play and rip blu-rays/handle play of 1080p files. Must be capable of gaming emulation of the NES/SNES era with N64 optional. Would like a reasonable amount of harddrive space, however I am planning to eventually hook this up to a 10TB+ external storage which will contain all media files. Should be capable of recording HD TV. Region free playback of BD/DVD would be nice if that is possible (?).

Thanks in advance for your help.

More about : required htpc 300

January 2, 2012 3:39:57 PM

Are you planning on editing and encoding. Also would you be interested in playing 2011/2012 games i.e. Battlefield 3?
m
l
January 2, 2012 11:54:32 PM

shattered space said: