Closed

Budget Gaming PC

Tags:
  • Prebuilt
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
January 3, 2012 3:15:18 PM

Hello, everyone!

I'm very new to all of this, but I'm looking for a pre-built system that can run the newest games on a 20 inch LG monitor (so not necessarily super HD). I'm looking more for longevity than immediate wow factor... Something with which I can play the games that come out for a while.

At least 8 GB of memory and USB 3 would also be greatly appreciated.

I'm looking to spend about 400 bucks for the system plus whatever needs to be added for the graphic card if I need to tack one on(total of about 500-650).

Finally (and this might be the tough one), I'd prefer to buy from Canada since that'll save me on pesky Duty fees. Can anyone help?

More about : budget gaming

January 6, 2012 12:47:30 AM

Helpful but a bit complex for me at this juncture.

Anything a bit more prebuilt?

I don't mind getting a Dell or HP or whatever and adding the Video card
Score
Related resources
January 6, 2012 6:16:52 AM

Sorry. I missed the pre-built word. Reading to fast again.

However, the problem you are going to run into is that pre-built systems from Dell, HP, or whoever, are not usually going to accept a gaming card without a power supply upgrade. Those shipped with integrated graphics are just going to have enough power supply to add on a very low end video card should the internal graphics wear out.

The other problem is that if you buy a gaming rig from one of these folks, they will tack on a $300 premium at mimum, and you still won't get a very good gaming rig. There goes the budget.

Having said all that, my best advice would be to go to one of the Canadian parts dealers like Canada Direct, NCIX, and even Newegg has a Canadian site now. I cannot really recommend Tiger Direct. Tiger's so called "deals" are made to prey on inexperienced folks and I do not do business with such people.