Sign in with
Your question

$1500 gaming rig first build

Last response: in Systems
January 5, 2012 12:56:36 AM

I am brand new to the PC building world, and have been doing some research. Honestly, I am rather overwhelmed with the wealth of information out there, and any suggestions as to where to start would be extremely helpful. I am looking to get the best gaming rig I can for $1,500. If anyone has a recent build they've done for $1,500, I don't have a problem just copying a build.

Approximate Purchase Date: Within the next month

Budget Range: $1,500 After Rebates

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, surfing the internet

Parts Not Required: Peripherals and OS (need system only)

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg.com or Microcenter

Parts Preferences: Likely would prefer i5-2500k with Z68 MB based on what I've read so far. I am also intrigued by the upcoming Radeon HD 7970 but am flexible in the GPU department.

Overclocking: Yes

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe (single card ok to start)

Monitor Resolution: 1920 x 1200

Additional Comments: I would prefer something fairly quiet.

I know a $1,500 budget will likely result in overkill at a 1920 x 1200 resolution for current gaming titles, but I want a build that I'll be able to use for as long as possible before updating.

Also, I would probably prefer to start with a single GPU and upgrade to crossfire or SLI at a later date as my budget allows, so I know I need to consider that for power consumption.

I know that's not a lot to go on, but any suggestions for builds or for where a newb can do some more research would be extremely helpful.

More about : 1500 gaming rig build

January 5, 2012 2:45:27 AM

i7-3820
X79 Asrock Extreme3
G.Skill 4x4GB 1600 CAS 9
Seagate 500gb
Corsair M4 128gb
850w 80+ single 12v rail, 2x6pin 2x6+2 or 8 pin
CM 690 II Advanced
Xigmatek Gaia SD1283
Dell 2412m IPS 1920x1200