Gaming Computer Help

n_s

Distinguished
Jan 4, 2012
I am fairly new to the world of building computers and I am in the market for a new system. There is so many configurations and parts that it is hard to pick stuff out. I need some help setting up a good system.

Approximate Purchase Date: This Year, able to wait longer.

Budget Range: $1300 Max

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, Microsoft Office, surfing the web

Parts Not Required: Monitor, OS, Keyboard, Mouse.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg.com or TigerDirect.com

Parts Preferences: Intel and Nvidia Combo if possible. Im looking at the I7 2600k

Overclocking: Possibly

SLI or Crossfire: Would like to buy 1 card then put another in later.

Monitor Resolution: 1920 x 1200

Additional Comments: My first system build, i have modified a couple of prebuilt systems before. Would like to get best bang for buck, nothing I don't need. would like to have neat cable management. I might wait for newer parts to come out so I will be as future proof as possible.

tlmck

Distinguished
Right now the defacto motherboard standard is either Gigabyte or ASUS with a z68 chip set. All are good, just get the model with the features you need.

Also for most the i5-2500k is a better deal and just as powerful for games.

I would go 8gb DDR3 1600 (2x4gb dual channel kit).

For your resolution anything in the AMD 6850/Nvidia GTX 460 or above would be preferable. This chart should help. Just get the most you can afford. You can also review Tom's video card charts for SLi/Crossfire ratings. http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/gaming-graphics-card-review,3107-7.html , http://www.tomshardware.com/charts/2011-gaming-graphics-charts/benchmarks,123.html