Upgrade my GPU

ivan chandra

Distinguished
Jul 3, 2011
I'm still new in this, I want to ask you a little and hopefully you guys can help ... :)

now I'm interested in asus mars II and wanted to buy it but I already have a GTX 590 and did not want to sell it, can i use both in one system? if i can, what should I do so both can work maximum? can it cause bottleneck? is there another way to avoid the bottleneck?

specifications that I use now :

Maximum 4 extrem-Z
2600k (not OC)
Corsair H100
16 gig ram
corsair 1200w gold series
gtx 590
HAF X
2x asus ML248H monitor

or maybe I should just wait for next-gen GPU?

I use this system only for gaming and do not have experience in overclock the CPU or GPU.

thanks in advance :)

Solution
I believe Robjordy is correct, you will have issues trying to sli a dual 580 and 590, the least of which is that (if you can accomplish a sli), the 590 will be slowing down the Mars II. The 590 is running at 630 MHz in sli, the Mars II is running two 580s in sli at 782 MHz. If the cards can be sli'd you'd have a monster, but with few apps that cane even touch the hardware. I'd save the $$ & wait for the 600 series next year.

ivan chandra

Distinguished
Jul 3, 2011
I just wanted to know if I can combine both in one system, because in my country there are only 3 mars II and must be booked in advance by paying an advance, I should quickly give a decision before it is given to someone else I also plan to add a monitor, or better I should wait for a next-gen GPU? thanks for read my post :)

ivan chandra

Distinguished
Jul 3, 2011
a friend of mine told me that I could use one as PhysX, is that correct? I'm also thinking to wait for next gen because mars II here is very expensive, which makes me very interested is the design and capabilities mars II.

thanks for answering :)

chesteracorgi

Distinguished