• Gaming
  • Games
  • Graphics
  • Product
Last response: in Graphics Cards
November 7, 2011 11:34:36 AM

Useful Information:

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Soon ( Next few weeks) BUDGET RANGE: 0-150

USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Gaming -- Modern games Ex: Skyrim, Most steam games at high quality, or at least smoothly

CURRENT GPU AND POWER SUPPLY: ATI Radeon HD 3200

OTHER RELEVANT SYSTEM SPECS: 4gb Ram ( Being told only 1.9 is available.)

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Any. County of Origin -- United States

PARTS PREFERENCES: Reccomended card

OVERCLOCKING: Ermm...not sure!

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1280x1024

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: Would like to run most modern games at high quality. -- If that's not possible on this budget, please let me know.

I'd really appreciate any help with advice regarding purchasing a better graphics card for my PC, as I'm having a tough time running the games I'd like to.

I'm new to this, so please excuse any newbie errors, I did my best with reading the forums, but I'm still a bit confused.

Thanks!

More about : budget graphics card upgrade casual gaming

a c 214 U Graphics card
November 7, 2011 11:42:12 AM

What CPU do you have?

What motherboard do you have?

What is the make/model of your Power Supply?

m
l
November 7, 2011 6:55:50 PM

My CPU is an AMD Phenom 9150e Quad-Core Processor (4 CPUs), ~1.8 GHz
Motherboard is Gateway RS780

Not entirely sure what the make/model of my power supply, and I'm not sure how to check it. I really appreciate the help, sorry if I'm a bit slow.
m
l
Related resources
a c 214 U Graphics card
November 7, 2011 7:05:53 PM

So the problem I see here is your processor.The 9150 is a bit weak for a quad core these days and it will bottleneck any of the high performance GPU's.You should still be able to run Valve games and Skyrim but please clarify what other "steam games" your going to play.