Sign in with
Your question

Troubleshooting an asrock z77 Motherboard, looking for help

Last response: in Motherboards
February 25, 2013 12:55:57 AM

I've got everything plugged in for the test. This is my first build by the way... So it blips on for about two seconds then shuts off again, nothing shows up on the monitor. Ram's in, processor's in, got the 24 pin power connector on nice and snug. GPU is an evga 670, that's got two 6 pin pci cables on it.

For my own trouble shooting I tried using the 4 pin and the 8 pin ATX 12v power supplement connectors. The youtube video for newegg said you could use both for extra juice so I tried that too. Every which way got me the same results though. Lights and fans are on for two seconds and then they stop.

Am I making some obvious monumental mistake here?
February 25, 2013 5:48:48 AM

Start by taking things out and trying to identify something that is causing the issue.

First, take out the GPU, this is often a part which can affect the entire computer booting up. Plug your video cable into the motherboard, and hopefully it will boot.

Second, if it doesn't work, see if its a RAM issue. Take out one stick of ram if you have two, see if it boots.If it still doesn't boot when your second stick is in, move the second stick. If it still doesn't boot then, then put back the first stick where the second stick just was.

If you have only one, move the ram stick to a different slot.

Other than that, please list your power supply.
m
l
Related resources
February 25, 2013 11:56:06 AM

Hello and ty for taking the time to hep me out! I've ruled out a lot of the simple answers. I shifted everything around and tried just the motherboard itself. The Power Supply is a 1300w. She's a biggin'. So it isn't a power shortage... Can there be too much power? o.O The brand is Kingwin.