Your question

Should i try clocking this dino ?

Tags:
  • CPUs
  • Product
Last response: in CPUs
April 16, 2012 1:11:27 PM

Helo & any advice would a big help.
I've just installed the board asus m4n82 deluxe with my old athlon 64 x2 5000+ brisbane & it took me a long time as it was my first time. A good friend gave me a zalman 10x extreme for cooling & i've an old but working 4870 with a crossair tx650 psu & 4gb of ddr2.
My question is should i overclock cpu & how ? ( can i just raise fbs alone ) I will replace cpu/gpu if i EVER find
Again thx if you can help me get better performance from this bits n bobs machine..
I'm a REAL novice at all this....

More about : clocking dino

a b à CPUs
April 16, 2012 1:26:11 PM

maself said:
Helo & any advice would a big help.
I've just installed the board asus m4n82 deluxe with my old athlon 64 x2 5000+ brisbane & it took me a long time as it was my first time. A good friend gave me a zalman 10x extreme for cooling & i've an old but working 4870 with a crossair tx650 psu & 4gb of ddr2.
My question is should i overclock cpu & how ? ( can i just raise fbs alone ) I will replace cpu/gpu if i EVER find
Again thx if you can help me get better performance from this bits n bobs machine..
I'm a REAL novice at all this....

Can't help your overclocking question but... You better hurry and grab a Phenom II while you can. because unless you plan to get a new Motherboard to, Phenom II is the best you can get right now... and AMD is discontinueing it...
Related resources
a c 98 à CPUs
April 16, 2012 4:00:22 PM

As far as gaming goes that 4870 is still a fairly capable GPU, I would Try and snag a Phenom II somehow and maybe another 4GB of RAM and you will be sitting just fine.
April 16, 2012 9:31:22 PM

Thanks for the advice guys,i've lifted fsb from 200 to 220 mhz just a little push but thats it.
Would this be overkill ? AMD Black Edition - AMD Phenom II X4 3.2 GHz Processor