PC just died, looking for new build. 800-900$ budget

inner universe

Distinguished
Aug 3, 2011
This is my first time building a PC from scratch so please bear with me. It is likely I'll have a bunch of newbie questions.

Approximate Purchase Date: Possibly today. I was planning on holding off a few months until the price on the NVIDIA 500 series cards and I5 processors went down but my computer just died. I've got someone coming to look at it now but if I can't save it I'll have to purchase very soon.

Budget Range: 800-900$ before rebates.

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, fraps, creating/editing videos, drawing, music, watching movies, etc..

Parts Not Required: Keyboard, mouse, speakers, operating system, monitor.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg, but if there's a better place I'm open to suggestion.

Parts Preferences: by brand or type: I would like a NVIDIA card and an Intel processor.

Overclocking: Maybe in the future

SLI or Crossfire: Yes, but this will be a future upgrade that I don't need right now.

Monitor Resolution: 1440x900, but this will also be upgraded in the future.

Additional Comments: My first gaming PC was my Dell XPS 420 which just died on me. It lasted 5 years, and while it was a decent machine it had almost no upgrade paths available. I want the machine I'm building now to have room for future upgrades. I want to be able to run SLI and be able to overclock in the future. I also want a decent CPU that won't become obsolete anytime soon. I also want to be able to add an SSD in the future as well.

Here is a build I came up with on my own. I have a 40$ off total purchase coupon for newegg so it just barely falls into my budget range after applying the coupon. I had a 1 TB hard drive on there but it was too expensive so I had to downgrade to a 500GB drive. Feel free to work off of this build, and if it's no good feel free to scrap it and come up with something completely new. Thank you everyone for your time.