Sign in with
Your question

Trtle beach x12 and dss 2 no surround sound?

Last response: in Components
April 17, 2012 3:30:26 AM

so i got both the dss2 ands the x12 headset for gaming on my pc, when i play on my 360 i get the full features, surround sound and all that, i know this cuz all the indicaters light up on my dss2, but on my pc the dolby digital surround light doesnt light up and only lights up when testing through device manager, i know nothing about sound cards and settings, i read that id need a sound card but thought surley the 360 doesnt have some special sound card that lets me use these does it? im using a p8z68-v non pro, gen 1 mobo, can someone help me please, ive got no idea whatsgoin on, so confusing, im new to all this dolby didgital stuff too
cheers

also if i need a sound card can someone recomend one, cheap with a link to one, i think its 5.1 dolby i need for the dss2
April 17, 2012 3:31:56 AM

also in the dss2 user manual it doesnt say id need a special sound card, it just says plug in and play like on 360.
April 17, 2012 4:00:03 AM

PC's typically don't use Dolby/DTS, because there is no reason to bother with compressed audio formats when you have massive HDD's at your disposal. Consoles however simply don't have the space needed for uncompressed audio, especially on the 360 (DVD9 is basically saturated at this point...).

Problem is, you can't transmit uncompressed 5.1 audio over an optical cable, as the cable simply doesn't have the necessary bandwidth. So the only way to get 5.1 using optical is via Dolby/DTS, which I again note PC's typically don't use.

This means you need a soundcard to convert uncompressed 5.1 audio signals to Dolby/DTS audio format, which also means a loss in audio quality.
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
April 17, 2012 5:12:28 AM