Your question

First build need some input

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
January 6, 2012 1:48:40 PM

This is my first time building a PC from scratch so please bear with me. It is likely I'll have a bunch of newbie questions.

Approximate Purchase Date: within the next month

Budget Range: 800-900$

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, fraps, creating/editing videos, drawing, music, watching movies, etc..

Parts Not Required: Keyboard, mouse, speakers, monitor.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg, but if there's a better place I'm open to suggestion.

Parts Preferences: by brand or type: leaning towards amd/ radeon

Overclocking: Maybe in the future

SLI or Crossfire: Yes, but this will be a future upgrade that I don't need right now.

Here is what i came up with myself as a starting point. i would like to stay under $900.00

looking at 8gb mem, and just wanting to run BF3 and SWTOR decently.

https://secure.newegg.com/WishList/MySavedWishDetail.as...

More about : build input

January 6, 2012 2:19:23 PM
Related resources
January 6, 2012 2:25:05 PM

do not listen to guy on top waste $100 more on i7 2600k its futureproof trust me and an ssd
m
l
January 6, 2012 2:32:42 PM

If you happen to live near a Microcenter, the i5-2500k CPU is only $179 all day every day. Their deals on other items are not as good but they will match places like Newegg.

The system listed by sosofm is very good although I prefer Gigabyte motherboards. ASUS is also good.
m
l
January 6, 2012 2:37:48 PM

i actually do live near a microcenter around chicago
m
l
January 6, 2012 2:49:56 PM
January 6, 2012 2:50:19 PM

I checked both Chicago stores and the price is the same. They also each have 10 in stock. You can actually order online for in store pickup so it will be ready if you get there. If you do any price matching, just print out the web page showing the price from Newegg or wherever and take it with you.