Building a modders tool box

tougas

Distinguished
Sep 25, 2011
So I'm putting together a modders/computer tool box. So i am wondering since I'm new to Modding PC's what would the essentials be, best way to get them and does anyone know where I can get a fairly abundant kit of miscellaneous computer screws?

Solution
All the above and a multi-meter, logic probes, contactless temp probe, psu tester, key/needle files, rj-45 crimp tools and plugs, network cable tester, soldering iron and solder, solder wick and solder sucker, helping hands (magnifier with crock clips), jewelers loop, usb microscope, kyner wire, fiberglass pencil, assorted sizes of heatshrink (glue lined and standard), assorted cable ties, earth straps, scalpel and cutting mat.

mildgamer001

Distinguished
Jul 5, 2011
needle nose pliers, large, med, and small flathead and philips screwdrivers, DREMEL TOOL, hot glue, crapton of computer screws, duct tape. painters tape, very sharp, maybe even exacto/crafting knives, mostly for smaller stuff that isnt metal or if you ever use wood on a computer build.

moto, if you got those screws from other computers, what did you do with the parts u didntr want? that local transfer station/dump/junkyard must hate you lol.

wr6133

Feb 10, 2012
Leatherman

Most useful tool ever equally great for construction or destruction. I personally have a draw full of them but thats a whole story in itself involving a mortar round hitting a quartermasters store and everything contained inside being "lost".

*edit for morning typos*

cyansnow

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2012
probably screw drivers (flathead and phillips) a dremel will go a long ways, tape, teflon tape (AKA PTFE) a craft knife or a razor, painters tape, electric drill, leatherman, measuring tape, pliers, and lots, and lots of screws of all sizes.

hairystuff

Distinguished