Workstation for under $600

Status
Not open for further replies.

gn3s

Distinguished
Oct 5, 2011
Approximate Purchase Date: Need it by Jan. 20, 2012

Budget Range: ~$600 (before rebate)

System Usage from Most to Least Important: editing pictures & video, surfing the internet, watching movies

Parts Not Required: keyboard/mouse, speakers and monitor

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg.com, amazon.com, tigerdirect.com

Parts Preferences: Any is fine

Overclocking: No

SLI or Crossfire: No

Monitor Resolution: My monitor 1600x900

Additional Comments: My wife needs a workstation that she can used to edit photos and video of our daughter. I have never build a workstation before. I am not sure if this is called a workstation or a htpc. I do not know which is which. Any help is welcome as I am new to this kind of PC.

Solution
OK, here are my thoughts on a build:

mobo: Intel board with SATA3 and USB3. Limited expand-ability, but should be fine for 16GB of ram, a few HDDs, possible future SSD, and future GPU, as well as USB3 connectivity for fast flash drive, or USB3 external HDD, you really dont need the features of the p67 or z68 boards for your scope.
Note that this motherboard will not overclock the processor, or use 1600MHz ram. I dont think either limitation will effect you though.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813121506
$90

Processor: i5 2400, quad core, HD2000 graphics. Switch to the i5 2500K for HD3000 graphics for a little extra $, but not really worth it in my opinion as you should buy a dedicated GPU if the onboard...
An HTPC would be used purely to play back videos and other media. This is firmly a workstation.
What programs will she be using, and how intensely will she be working? Are we talking adjusting levels, or are we talking multiple HD video/animation streams? I could max out your $600, but I don't think you need that much money if she's not using top-of-the-line software.