Need help deciding on the price vs. performance

Status
Not open for further replies.

kdon27

Distinguished
May 17, 2010
Hi all,
I'm a newbie when it comes to computer hardware so I'd really appreciate any advice on the following questions. I'm trying to get a gaming PC but I'm on an extremely tight budget so I'm not looking for top line specs. I have quite a few questions so any input on any or all of the questions is much appreciated.

Question 1

I noticed that ATI and AMD are *significantly* cheaper than nVidia and Intel. But when I checked the benchmarks on Passmark.com I found the AMD Quad Core to have a score of 5461.0 and the i5-2400 to be a 6152.0. Similarly, the HD 6850 has a 2735.0 and the GTX 560 (non-Ti) to be 2722.0. So my question is, given that I'm trying to get a gaming PC, is it worth spending an extra $100 just to get a better CPU?

Question 2

I've come up with these specs for a price tag of $638 (AUD).
AMD A8 3850 Quad Core Fision APU, 2.9 GHz, 4MB Cache, Socket FM1, 32nm
All-in-one AMD A75 (Hudson D3) Chipset Motherboard (comes with Integrated HD 2100)
4GB DDR3 RAM
Want to get a Ati HD 6850 (1G)

I have a few questions about the hardware:

1. How does the HD 6850 compare to the CPU? Will the CPU bottle neck the GPU?

2. Can I disable the Integrated HD 2100? Will it affect the HD 6850 in terms of how well it runs? Will having the integrated card make the motherboard die sooner?

Question 3

My final question is about the longevity of the AMD and Ati brands, not in terms of performance but rather how good the quality of the hardware is? Will they die sooner than the Intel/nVidia combo? I heard the AMD heats up much more and therefore dies sooner?

Also, if you have any advice on the appropriate PSU and cooler/case that would be very much appreciated.

Many thanks,
kdon 27

Solution
The HD 2100 series graphics are from the old AMD 740g Socket AM2 series motherboards which would not be applicable in this situation.