Sign in with
Your question

$500-$800 gaming computer build?

Last response: in Systems
January 7, 2012 7:44:09 PM

My birthday is coming up, and my parents offers to help me get a new computer within the range of 500-800 dollars. I have never completely built a computer, but I have upgraded graphics cards and had a look around the inside of the box before.

I plan on using the computer for regular gaming by any average 16 yer old, I suppose. I want to run Starcraft 2, skyrim, and other games of the sort. I know I don't want a terrible graphics card, and that I want 4=< gigs of ram, but after that I've no idea what to do or where to start. Any help will be very appreciated. I also do not need more than 500 gigs of HDD space, but I would prefer to have atleast 300. I will be having a lot of music and games, but not huge amounts of movies or anything.

Thanks in advance! This is my first time on Tomshardware, so if this is in the wrong place please let me know and I will move it.
January 8, 2012 3:30:40 AM

Can you fill out the template here please?

When you say 500-800, all anyone sees is 800 :p  We're going to run out every last nickel of that budget, but we need a better idea of the specifics. If you're buying in the next couple of days, we can look for specific deals; in a month, we need to look at parts that are inexpensive generally. 800 before or after rebates? Are you in one of Newegg's taxed states (CA, NJ, TN)? Do you have any parts you can reuse from your current machine, particularly a hard drive, operating system, or monitor? Are you willing to overclock? Etc.
m
l
January 8, 2012 7:42:20 AM

Approximate Purchase Date: within the next week or two

Budget Range: $500-700

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming

Parts Not Required: Monitor, speakers, mouse

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Preferably NewEgg, but anywhere that will ship to Oregon is fine.