Really tough problem with home-built system

drthuppy

Honorable
Feb 28, 2013
I'm really stuck and an online forum may be the only place where the expertise is high enough to really help me.

I'm not a newbie. I've built several computers over the years, but my current problem has me stumped.

In 2011, I built a system for video processing. It's an Asus P8P67 Deluxe board (B3 version), i2600k processor, 2x8GB Patriot DIMMs, and originally an OCZ 120GB SSD and two WD 2 TB HDs. The original system also had an ATI 5770 1 GB video card. At times, the system has supported two or three monitors (all Dell 24" 1920 x 1200).

Since it was built two years ago, my system has suffered from random freeze-ups. Mostly these mean that the mouse and keyboard lock up, but on occasion there is also screechy noise from the audio when this happens. The screen freezes when this happens (e.g., the second hand on the clock does not move). When the system locks up, it locks up my router (Netgear WNDR 4000) and will not allow other computers on my home network (or Wi-Fi) to access the internet.

When it first started locking up, Windows 7 would forget the SSD and cause huge delays in getting the system running again, so I put a WD 1 TB in as the C: drive. It didn't eliminate the freeze-ups, but allows me to just reboot. Since the original build, I've replaced the ATI 5770 with an Nvidia 660 GTX 2 GB.

The computer has been extensively stress-tested at a local computer shop. No anomalies in the memory, processor, or video. The computer shop can't get it to lock up but they don't actually use it and I don't think they attach it to their network.

When the computer locks up, there is no associated error or warning in the logs. The logs say that the computer was restarted without proper shutdown, but that's from me pressing the reset button. I've updated the BIOS to the most recent version and run things like PC Pitstop, which declares it to have no problems with drivers or anything else.