Asus p8z77-v lx, not posting to monitor. DRAM LED light flashing red

jtylr123

Honorable
Jan 28, 2013
Hello everyone, I need help with starting my computer
I built a computer and its my first build.
The components are:
Asus p8z77-v lx motherboard
8gb Corsair Ram 2 x 4 GB DDR3
Intel core i5 3350p CPU
Sapphire Radeon HD 7850 2gb OC edition
Corsair 500w power supply
half a gb hdd western digi caviar blue

When I turn the Compter on it does not post to the monitor, I am running it through a HDMi, all fans and components are running and mainly all looks good, The problem is that the DRAM LED light is flashing red, When i Hold the MemOk button for 3 seconds it turns the computer off. I have checked that the RAM is fully clipped in over 10 times and have took it out of the slots and back in.

I need help on what to do and how to fix this problems as I have ran out of ideas and the asus helpline was dreadful and blamed my monitor.

Thanks for any upcoming help I will be very grateful

Hi,
The CPU requires the 0610 BIOS version. There's a barcode sticker on the motherboard.
The last 4 digits stand for the board's BIOS version.
Have you tried starting the board with only one RAM stick inserted?

jtylr123

Honorable
Jan 28, 2013
What do you mean about the BIOS how do I do anything to do with BIOS without seeing anything on the monitor?
And also I have tried with one RAM stick and it is exactly the same

Thanks for helping

On the motherboard (right side) there's a narrow sticker (with a barcode).
The last 4 digits on that sticker stand for the board's original BIOS version.
If older than 0610 then there are some options, but firstly check it.

Then the CPU is supported and it should work.
Try taking the board outside the case and test again with a minimum configuration.
Install single RAM module in each slot and test.
If still the same, try reinstalling the CPU and check the CPU socket for bent pins.

jtylr123

Honorable
Jan 28, 2013