Sign in with
Your question

Review/Advice on First Build

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
January 8, 2012 11:53:40 PM

Hi guys, I am planning to build my first PC, so I'm quite new to all this. Please review/advise me on the parts i have chosen.

Approximate Purchase Date: ASAP, Hopefully this week

Budget Range: £1500 - £1700

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, movies, Microsoft office stuff

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Scan, Amazon

Parts Preferences: Intel, Nvidia

Overclocking: Would like to try mild overclocking

SLI or Crossfire: Yes in the future

The parts i have chosen are:

Case
NZXT Phantom Enthusiast Black Full Tower Chassis £105

I also like the Dragon Rider, although I have read several reviews about bad cable management, any ideas on this case?

CPU
Intel Sandybridge i5-2500K £168 Amazon

Motherboard
ASUS 1155 P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 £149 Amazon

Memory
Corsair Memory Vengeance LP Arctic White 8GB DDR3 1600 MHz CAS 9 XMP Dual Channel Desktop £42

Hard Drive
Seagate 1Tb SATA 3 £95

Graphics Card
EVGA GeForce GTX 580 Super Clocked 1536MB GDDR5 NVIDIA Graphics Card £384

Power Supply
Corsair 1050HX Professional Series Silver HX 1050W £158

Optical Drive
Samsung Blu-Ray Combo, SH-B123L/RSBP, SATA £47 Amazon

Cooling
NZXT Havik CPU Cooler £54

Monitor
Asus VE278Q 27" LED Monitor £240 Amazon

Operating System
Windows 7 Premium £119

At the moment my total is around £1600, I would like to keep some parts eg. Case, PSU for the next couple builds.
Is this build ok? Any advice would be very much appreciated. Thank you for you time.

More about : review advice build

January 9, 2012 12:14:26 AM

Overall it isn't bad but I would ditch a few things to save money. W7 Ultimate isn't worth the price tag and you won't miss the features over Home Premium. I'd also drop down to 750W of power as 1000W for your system is obviously overkill unless you plan on liquid cooling.