Newbie Here - Confused with motherboard + SSD Compatability

Status
Not open for further replies.

Atari2600

Distinguished
Aug 24, 2008
Hello all,

Building a new pc for gaming and film converting/ripping.

System spec's:

1 X INTEL 2600K SANDY BRIDGE CPU

1 X ASUS MOTHERBOARD P8Z68-V PRO = Find out which board is best for gaming, works well together with with SSD. ($150-200)

1 X 8GB KIT DDR3 1600MHZ G.SKILL RIPJAWS

1 X 120GB or 240GB SSD OCZ VERTEX 2 (For OS and gaming, few applications)

1 X 500GB SEAGATE BARRACUDA HDD (7200)

1 X GTX 580 GIGABYTE GPU 1.5GB

2 X SONY DVD +/- BURNERS

1 X 850 WATT THERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER PSU

1 X KANDALF FULL TOWER CASE

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NOT SURE WHICH ONE TO GO WITH AIR OR WATER

1 X XIGMATEK BALDER SD1283

1 X ANTEC KUHLER H20 620 CPU WATER COOLER

1 X Corsair Hydro Series H60 High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What my question is; Is my SSD drive going to have problems with the On-board SSD on the motherboard. Will it slow the read/write speeds down on the SSD or will they clash in any type of way?

Has anyone had first hand experience with these boards?

Best regards,
Atari

Solution
He's referring to Intel's Smart Response Technology. It's part of the Z68 chipset and it allows you to use a SSD as a cache drive instead of a logical drive. The difference is that as a Cache drive it'll speed up all of your most commonly used applications regardless of what physical drive they're present on (typically your HDD). As a logical drive a SSD can be used as a boot/application drive but only the programs that are installed directly to that SSD will see a performance boost.

SRT = boosts most common used programs, is an install and forget solution.

SSD as Logical drive = better performance, only speeds apps you install to SSD, can be a pain to micromanage.