deximate

Distinguished
Nov 11, 2011
First of all, hello to everyone - - this is my first post, though I've been reading threads on this forum anonymously for some time. Anyway, try to be gentle; I don't pretend to be a computer expert, though I'm doing my best to learn all I can.

Here's my question: I'm having a custom PC built for me (call it a birthday present to myself). As I plan to use it both for gaming and photo-editing (I'm a professional photographer), I went heavy on the graphics cards - - i.e. triple EVGA GTX580s. My question is not whether this setup will be able to handle two monitors, each doing its own thing: I'm pretty sure that won't be a problem. My question is: is there specific software available for DL or purchase that will enable me to get the most out of a dual monitor setup under windows 7? My goal is to be able to run two or more programs simultaneously, each on its own monitor. (I'm assuming that that's possible...) For example, I'd like to be able to be mid-game, running everquest 2 on monitor 1, while checking my mail and looking up game-related info on the web on monitor 2. Do the two monitors have to be mirror-images of each other, or can I "separate" them and run each independently?

I apologize in advance if this is too simplistic for you guys... I just don't have anyone to ask.

Thanks

First you dont need seperate software
I use <screen resolution> which is found by right clicking on your desktop

Second you can definitely run seperate programs on seperate monitors
I use a dual setup with a C2D 3ghz/HD 5670 and easily can have have
outlook,video encoder,system monitor,multiple IE9s etc running

You want to use the option <extend these display> found in the <screen resolution>
menu box

and remember not only can you have them side by side you can have them on top
of each other

as far as the triple 580s (I am so jealous LOL) running two monitors each I believe that is possible but would want to double check to make sure