$1000 range GAMING pc build for ABSOLUTE NOOB

Status
Not open for further replies.

d3c0d3d

Distinguished
Jan 9, 2012
APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: March 2012

BUDGET RANGE: $1000 after rebate ($1300 w/ monitor)

SYSTEM USAGE: Gaming

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: keyboard, mouse, speakers

PREFERRED WEBSITES FOR PARTS: newegg, I honestly don't care

PARTS PREFERENCE: I am too noob to know.

OVERCLOCKING: No, because it looks too complicated

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: no idea what this is =/

MONITOR RESOLUTION: idk? something good :D

ADDITION COMMENTS: Sorry I am a big noob :( My friend who is a big youtuber uses this setup:
Motherboard: ASUS P8P67 (REV 3.0) LGA 1155
Graphics card: EVGA SuperClocked 015-P3-1582-AR GeForce GTX 580
Power Supply: CORSAIR Professional Series HX750
CPU : Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz Quad core
RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB
-Is this setup he uses good? Will it last? Also what case and monitor do you recommend for this setup?

I am just looking for the best possible setup I can get for the price range I am in:
Primary uses will be as follows:
-Counter Strike
-Minecraft
-Fraps
-and coding games
I would like to thank anybody in advance who leaves me some advice :D

Solution
His build is nice, but the 580 is around $500 so I doubt you can fit it into your build with your budget. Go with an i5-2400 (since you won't overclock), gskill ripjaws, a 560ti video card, asrock or gigabyte Mobo (around $125) and a psu from a decent brand (antec, corsair, coolermaster) that is around 650w. Pick out a case you like (since you will be the one looking at it all the time) such as the coolermaster haf.

cpu is around $190
mobo will be about $125
ram is around $50
case is $60-100 (depending on what you pick, look around on newegg at some of the best sellers for that price range)
psu around $90
any cd/dvd drive is about $20
video card is $300

All that is just shy of $850

You will still need a hard drive, if you have one...

Cripple13

Distinguished
Aug 29, 2011