Sign in with
Your question
Closed

First build, could use some advice/critique on part selection

Last response: in Systems
January 9, 2012 11:43:14 PM

So after not being able to run Sonic Generations on my laptop, I decided it was time to upgrade and build my own desktop. I wanted a gaming PC that could handle Skyrim on mid-high settings, as well as type up and save some documents. I've never built a computer before, but am eager to learn how.

Purchase date: within two weeks
Budget: $700-850 (not including monitor and OS, those will be a gift)
Parts Not required: Mouse, keyboard, OS, speakers/headphones
Preferred website: Newegg, but I'm going to microcenter and will price check other reputable sites as well.
Preferences: Just the stuff below.
Overclocking: Yes
SLI/Crossfire: No
Monitor Resolution: 1920 x 1080

Parts I want:
GPU: SAPPHIRE 100314-3L Radeon HD 6870 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP
CPU: Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz LGA 1155 95W Quad-Core
MOB: ASRock P67 PRO3 (B3) LGA 1155 Intel P67 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX
RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2x2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
Mon: Acer S220HQLAbd Black 21.5" 5ms LED Backlight Widescreen LCD Monitor 250 cd/m2
HSF: COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus RR-B10-212P-G1 "Heatpipe Direct Contact" Long Life Sleeve 120mm

(Not necessarily buying them all from newegg)

Additional Comments:
I plan to also get a 500GB 7200RPM (and at least a 16MB cache) HDD.

I only want a disc drive that can read CD's and DVD's, and probably write them too. What kind would that be? Do DVD drives handle CD's as well?

I plan to overclock my CPU to around 4.0MHz, maybe 4.2MHz, so I think I want to get an aftermarket heatsink fan and some thermal paste. Am I correct in assuming the stock one will not be enough if I use my computer often? Also, can anyone explain thermal paste and correct application?