Sign in with
Your question

What's the point of more than 1 monitor?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
November 12, 2011 3:35:23 AM

What's the point of having more than one monitor? Do note that I have zero experience with multi-monitor setups (don't have the funds or the space and stacking 40-pound monitors on top of each other is another issue). While I think I understand that multi-monitor setups allow for a higher resolution experience, such as connecting two monitors of 1920x1200 to get either 3840x1200 or 1920x2400 resolution. Still, there's that gap between the monitors that might cause workability problems. You could get 3 1920x1200 monitors for the price of a single 2560x1600 display and get far more total pixels. Beyond that, what's the point of having several monitors?

More about : point monitor

a b C Monitor
November 12, 2011 3:47:37 AM

I have run dual displays for years
would never go back
I run 1920x1080 21.5 primary
and a 1280x1024 secondary (saving up for new monitor)

for me it is the abiltiy to have a multiple apps open between the two displays
for example an email open with a two or three browsers plus MS Word etc

so if I have info on an email that plus on browser windows I can
easily see it as I type on MSWord

also I put my Outlook,system monitor, on there so I can see it
and not take up space on primary

for example while typing this
I have TV playing in Cyberlink Power Cinema from my TV capture card
I have outlook
I have DVD Flick encoding/burning a DVD
and I have HWinfo64 showing temps and clocks

while I have two big browser windows on primary
one is my toms
the other is ebay

It has been stated by Microsoft that having multiple displays
can increase work productivity by 30-40 percent

plus it looks cool :) 
m
l
November 12, 2011 3:59:18 AM

^^^ +1