How do I fix this?

octose

Distinguished
Jan 10, 2012
Hey guys - I'm somewhat new to building PC's from the ground up but I went ahead and succeeded yesterday, now I'm having trouble with the motherboard recognizing my 570 GTX and my previous Hard Drive.

I am using parts from my old PC (PSU - Hard Drive - 570) And using new parts I purchased (2500k - ASROCK Extreme 3 Gen 3 - Azza 1000R Case - GSkill 1600mhz 8gb 4x2 ram). I put all the parts in properly and hooked everything up, I THINK I successfully installed Windows Home Premium Upgrade (THis is a Reinstall) because I know that I needed to gather new drivers for my mobo.

This doesn't seem to have worked - I can get into my computer successfully, but my Computer doesn't recognize my 570GTX and Hard Drive - Stuff stores itself on my hard drive and says that 100gb of 581gb is free etc. but i can't ACCESS my file from my previous build. In my BIOS I can see that the Mobo recognizes both of these, just the windows doesn't.

I can't change my resolution etc access those files -

Can anyone tell me what to do? I have heard I need to call Microsoft just to re-activate my code

octose

Distinguished
Jan 10, 2012
Well - it seems as if my computer uses the Intel graphics from the 2500k. I looked in my devices and nothing shows up as 570gtx - just the integrated graphics with a Nvidia VGA dealio. I also run 2 screens, both DVIs in my 570 - only one monitor is recognized. The Hard Drive is there for sure, but it won't let me access my files from the previous build on the actual hard drive, so I can only access files/see files installed from after my reinstallation of windows.

jrazor247

Distinguished
Nov 21, 2009
Asrock site says your motherboard has switchable graphics - Lucid Virtu Switchable Graphics. So that may need an additional driver or you may need to go into the bios and disable the integrated graphics.