I'm a noob looking to upgrade...

Status
Not open for further replies.

l2uff

Distinguished
Nov 12, 2011
I currently have a dual monitor setup... and use my computer for work (writing & editing), some graphic design & gaming. I am looking to SLI so I can use 3 monitors for gaming. My current specs are

MSI x58 Platinum
i7 920 @2.67 LGA1366
16GB DDR3
MSI GeForce GTX 260 896MB
650w PSU

I am on a budget so I cannot go crazy... I am hoping to get by on spending like 400$ but I know if I need to upgrade a lot then I will have to spend more.

1) Does my processor and/or motherboard need to be upgraded?
2) What about going with 2x GTX 550 TI?
2b) Is my PSU going to be OK w/these cards (the newegg recommended PSU tool says 631 consumed, which is OK but I am still a bit worried its not enough)?

Or is there a better route that you guys would go? If it gets too pricey I'll have to wait until next year and then I'd probably just upgrade the whole system.

Solution
I would suggest going for a 6950 or 6970.That is the most powerful card you can get without going over budget and still be able to use 3 monitors.When you get more money you can upgrade to a bigger PSU and get another 6950 or 6970 for crossfire.

I would think with a 6970 running Eyefinity it's possible you could play Skyrim and MW3 on medium to high settings.Skyrim would be more demanding so don't expect a whole lot of performance settings from it.MW3 on the other hand does seem doable.

This bordline your budget but it's well worth it,imo.It's got a hefty factory O.C. and the heatsink is one of the best.

MSI 6970

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814127581

l2uff

Distinguished
Nov 12, 2011

i looked into 560ti sli, but I think that's out of my price range right now. It would require a PSU upgrade (newegg says 785w recommended) so that's another 115$ on top of $270 per card. I definitely cannot spend that much.

Do you plan to use 3 monitors for gaming or for work? Nvidia surround?