Need a grapics card to help out a friend, dont know what to buy

Cuthroat12

Distinguished
Nov 13, 2011
Hello, I have set up a computer for a friend of mine to use with his HDTV (wireless keyboard and mouse). I let him use my backup PCI express graphics card for now and need to find a card that will work for his application. I have experience with graphics cards and upgrade a lot for gaming but never attached one to a TV. So I have no experience whatsoever with graphics cards and regular TV's. I used my GeForce 9600 GT (temporarily) so that he would have something to get him by. Here's the issues I had and the questions I need help with before I order him his own card;

Issue #1 Used adapter to get component out to the TV and the resolution was stretched larger than the screen (tried adjusting TV and everything, tried Nvidia settings, nothing worked)

Issue #2 Used HDMI and didn't have sound and there was not an input for a 3.5 mm plug on the TV for that specific input. I know there is a way to set up sound but how?!? I would rather built in sound on the graphics card if that exists to make set up easy.

Issue #3/temporary fix, I attached the TV to the graphics card using the component/s-video adapter and an S-Video cable for video and a 3.5 mm to 3.5 mm cord for stereo sound. The result; The video screen is smaller than the TV and looks horrible! It is working for now though.