Sign in with
Your question

First homebuilt pc

Last response: in Systems
January 11, 2012 7:48:31 PM

Hey guys

I am trying to put together a pc for home use. I have never tried anything like this before but i have done some research on the matter. My skill level is beginner and i have a very limited understanding of software, hardware-compatibility and such. Firstly i would like a pc that can play the latest games (crysis) and render excellent graphics in all aspects, and i would like it to be as silent as economically possible. My budget is around 2000 dollars, but i live in The Faroe Islands (extremily remote) and i am focusing mainly on the danish market as Danmark is the nearest country. Where to order from is however open to discussion.
Secondly i consider this a learning experience. The idea is to build it myself so as to get to know all the components as well as i can. I have a growing interest in computers and i want this one to last me a couple of years in to the future and still be compatible. I think this is a great way to get started. I do however use my current laptop alot and intend to do so with the pc aswell, so demands are pretty high. It will funktion as a multimedia platform connected to my stereo and 46" tv.

I have to the best of my abilities put together a list of hardware that i reckon should do the job.

Prosessor: Intel Core i7 2600K Sandy Bridge

Prosessor cooling: Corsair H100 Hydro Series

Motherboard: ASUS P8Z68-V PRO

Graphics card(s): ASUS ENGTX560 DCII OC/2DI/1GD5 (Two of these)

RAM: Corsair 16GB DDR3 1600MHz (4x)

System harddrive: OCZ Vertex 3 SSD - 120 GB

Harddrive: Seagate 2000 GB harddisk

Cabinet: Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced

GPU: Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold 800W

Monitor: Samsung 23'' S23A700D 3D Monitor