~$1200 Gaming Build, First Time

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Gaming
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
January 11, 2012 10:56:13 PM

Hi guys, I am planning on building a gaming pc for around $1200 before rebates in the next month or so. This is my first real build so I would greatly appreciate any advice you guys can give me. I am open to all suggestions, so please let me know if these components are acceptable/will work or if I am making a stupid mistake haha, I am new to this process.

These are the components I have chosen so far based on a decent amount of research, but again I am a noob at this.

Case: Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced Full Tower - $150
- I probably don't need a full tower, but I do intend to make several future expansions, so I figured it would be best.

CPU: Intel Core i7-2600K Processor - $315
- I am definitely looking to overclock

CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 - $30

RAM: CORSAIR XMS3 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 - $50

MOBO: GIGABYTE GA-Z68A-D3H-B3 - $130

Graphics: XFX Double D HD-695X-CDFC Radeon HD 6950 2GB - $280
- In the future I would like to utilize crossfire but not for a while

Hard Drive: Crucial M4 CT064M4SSD2 2.5" 64GB SATA III SSD - $110
- I already have other HDDs for storage, I heard solid state drives made great boot drives

PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular - $90

Already have a monitor, keyboard, mouse, optical drive, and I am gonna get Windows 7 with my student discount for $35.

So with that, ~$1190 before the various rebates.

So if someone could tell me if these components play well together, or if I am making a horrible mistake, or just any other advice? There is some wiggle room with the budget if someone knows a component vastly better than something I have here that isn't too much more expensive, or if someone knows that I can get one of these components for cheaper.

Thanks!

More about : 1200 gaming build time

Best solution

January 11, 2012 11:15:56 PM