Sign in with
Your question
Solved

$1600-$1700 Gaming PC from iBuyPower

Last response: in Systems
January 12, 2012 8:56:26 PM

(This will be a little long as I like to be very clear in my explanations, when I can.)

Hello all, first post here. I am looking to put together a decent gaming PC (mostly for Skyrim, SWTOR, and SC2). Up to this point, I have just bought pre-built Dell systems. That's honestly been fine for my needs, but lately I am getting more and more frustrated with their customer support. So, for this computer I decided to do more research and see about having a company custom build something for me. So far, iBuyPower has allowed me to assemble what looks like the best system for the price.

I have no real experience building things myself, and as a busy college student I don't have the resources (time, energy, money) to start learning now. Unfortunately this also means I lack real experience choosing hardware. I know some basic things, and I have learned a fair amount over the past week doing research, but I do still find it fairly confusing. I would like to buy this computer within a week, which given my current homework load precludes me spending a lot more time researching.

So, that being said, I would like to post the specifications of the system I am looking at and get advice as to if the parts are compatible and efficient (money wise). For example, if I could get comparable performance with a cheaper part, or if spending only a little more would net a major increase in performance, or if I have more of something than I really need (such as RAM or PSU wattage).

Technical explanations are okay if you're willing to avoid large numbers of acronyms/explain things a bit. Any and all help (including recommendations of comparable prices for better specs from a different company) will be appreciated, thank you.