Status
Not open for further replies.

Laser1

Distinguished
Jan 11, 2010
Hi-

I'm a novice builder. Nearly 2 years ago I "built" my own little computer using an Intel Atom 330 MoBo, a Western Digital Green 750 hard drive and a CD/DVD burner. I also later got PCI to Sata controller card to add more hard drives. This has been a great little NAS (no monitor).

On the WD750 drive I had the operating system on one small partition (50 gb) and used the second partition (700gb) for storage. This was plugged directly into the MoBo Sata controller, not my expansion card.

Well, I decided to get cute and repartition the storage part into 2 partitions of 350 gb or so. I went through with it and everything was fine. I successfully wrote to one of the new partitions.

The next day I went to save my daily work and couldn't access the computer. So I hooked it up to a monitor to see what was going on. Now it looks like it won't boot off the hard drive and I couldn't get it to boot of the CD/DVD drive. Text on the screen comes up and says no bootable media or something and sometimes it will say something like really damaged BIOS, going to wing it!

So, now I think I am in real trouble. I went through the Bios to make sure everything was ok, and it seemed to be. And now I am not sure where to begin trouble shooting. I am not sure why if I put in a bootable CD/DVD that the MoBo won't allow me to boot off it? Also, not sure why repartitioning a hard drive would affect my ability to boot off the CD/DVD drive. And I am not sure why repartitioning part of my hard drive would affect the other partition.

Thank you in advance. If this is the wrong place to post, let me know.

Solution