New $1800 build help?

Status
Not open for further replies.

fire r a g e

Distinguished
Jan 14, 2012
Hey Tom's Hardware. This is my first post on this forums. I have joined your community because I heard this forums the best place to ask questions about building a PC. I am new to PC Gaming and gaming in general; however, whenever my cousins came to town with their Game System games, I always want to play the latest games they would have (usually). Although I am new to building a PC, I am very familiar with how parts interact with each other and what each component does, and also what SLI/Crossfire/OCing is). I have played some with them, but in general, the last game system I ever had was a PS1 (2003) and the last handheld was GBA SP (at around 2005). Now that I have some $ and am older, I want to build my very first computer, and I hope you guys are able to help. Now, if you want more background information, just ask. :)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Approximate Purchase Date: sometime in March. As explained in the thread, please don't try to convince me to ask for advice later.

Budget Range: $1500-1800

System Usage from Most to Least Important:Runescape MMORPG, other Gaming (MW3, BF3, CoD, Dragon Ball Z, Spyro, Sonic, Pokemon are some examples but I'm open to all genres), surfing the web, youtube, school work.

Parts Not Required: OS, Keyboard (for now), Mouse (for now); One thing though: My dad does have some laptop HDDs, but the max he has is a 250 GB and Idk if he uses it or not. If his HDDs work, I might not need one.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg.com, ncix.com, microcenter.com (for CPU and MOBO)

Parts Preferences: Intel CPU, 20+ Inch Monitor with HDMI; LED Backlit and HD preferred; and I will need an SSD too, if it can fit.

Overclocking: Yes

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe

Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080